Weekly Photo Challenge – Movement ~ Songs of Lake Superior

This is a re-post from the very beginning of Post-a-day 2011, and according to stats, not many have seen or read it. It seemed to fit the bill for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement and since I am not moving very quickly at the moment (broken toe) I hope you enjoy! Next Sunday, July 15th is Lake Superior Day, so it seems doubly apt. You can learn more about celebrating the Lake at Lake Superior.
The photo includes ice, so if you are in one of the “heat zones,” close your eyes, imagine the sounds of waves, feel the cold water and enjoy the Songs of Lake Superior. Mmmmm… Feels great on my rainbow colored foot!

Lake Superior

I love the sound of Lake Superior singing, rushing, roaring, laughing,
and have not “seen” the Lake in daylight for days.
I visited her last night at dusk.
We talked quietly in the half-light.
Looking out as far as eyes could see,
she seemed unmoving, frozen, still,
resting in her cycle of winter.
I sang to her, as usual, off key.
She thanked me anyway.
I thanked her for being, always there, always patient.
Home, to rest, to recall her other songs.
This is one:
Beneath my ice
Water flows
In ebbing tides
My mystery grows
Moving water
Cannot freeze
Kept warm by unseen energies.
Rest, move, flow,
Rest, move, grow.
In your dreams
In your sleep
I’ll hold the secrets
Safe and deep.
Come spring
Sunlight dancing yet again
Sparkling laughter tossing
Beauty on the beach
mysteries to the wind.

Namaste~ Starbear
May your day be filled with rest, action, food for thought, and most of all love.

Copyright 2011-12 Betsy Lewis

10 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Movement ~ Songs of Lake Superior

  1. Nothing better than the movement of water. My contribution is going to be sea based too.

  2. beautiful image and what a great capture, through words, of the spirit of the lake.

  3. It’s been so hot out lately, I could use a little ice. :)

  4. The sound of water moving and crashing, great to think about.

    Have I just missed you or are you taking time out these days?

    Jim

    • You haven’t missed me, I have missed me. Working 40 hours a week – + drive-time kept me away from “normal”… time at the beach, time writing, photography.
      Perhaps it is time to write about “making a living or making a life?”

  5. LOVE the poem. “Beneath my ice, water flows” I SO relate!

Your comments are appreciated!

