Weekly Photo Challenge: Big ~ Happy ~ Color Post ~ Waiting for Yellow

Big Happy Color Post

Big Happy Color Post ~ Waiting for Yellow to Fly

Big. Happy. Color. Perfect challenge topics for this artist, photographer, writer. This post marks my studio on the beach. It is a very BIG beach on Lake Superior. I call it my Happy Post. Last year I wrote about it in a post called Celebrating Life Sharing Joy.
In my recent absence from blogging, I have been on a fabulous journey of exploration. On this journey I discovered some of my addictions.
I am addicted to COLOR.
I am addicted to JOY.
I am also addicted to Happy People, Stones, the Beach, Teaching, Art,and being Healthy.
In early October, as the colors of summer quickly turned to the fleeting palette of fall, I was out shooting as often as the weather permitted. It has been a very cold and wet fall, snow already, mixed with other harbingers of winter.
I now have thousands of images to sort through from a few good color shooting days… indoor work for snowy days.
For the past four months, almost the whole summer,
I have been quiet. I have been in a wee bit of a No Comfort Zone. I was physically limited by 2 injuries. One to my foot, the other to my hand. At one point I could not type, hold my camera or even a cup of coffee. Nor could I hike the dunes or trek to the beach so often. Miracles happen. The last two months have been miraculous. I learned how much I value my ability to hike the dunes to get to my beach studio. (Thank you feet!) I learned how important my hands are to me. (Thank you hands!) I learned that even when I am apparently unable to “do” much, that I am able to be very happy.
The Big Color Happy Post was restored with new ribbons, full colors.
Recently, I rejoiced in the opportunity to spend several afternoons in sunshine, shooting the flying colors in the beach breezes.
While the Big Happy Post on the Beach marks my return to my studio, this blog post marks my return from silence. I may not write as often, and although this one is long, I may have to become economical with words here, with three books in progress. I am also making some new big art pieces… and have been gathering stone for winter works.

I laughed the whole time I was shooting these. I laughed with the sky; it was such a deep rich clear blue. I laughed as the ribbons danced in the the wind and cloud vapor repeated their rhythm in the background. I laughed with the bubbly cotton ball clouds billowing up on the horizon. I laughed with the sound of the waves and the smell of fresh air.
I laughed as I waited for the yellow to fly and I rejoiced in my colorful life.
I laughed out loud as I lay on my belly on the warm sand to shoot color against the sky while my spirit soared and I connected once again to the universe and myself. I laughed with the joyful knowledge that my hands still work most of the time and my feet carry me off on wonderful adventures.
Life is good, full of color and joy. I am comfortable with that.
I have missed you all and it is good to be back.

Big Happy Color Post

… and then the Yellow lifted up and soared.

Namaste ~ Star Bear

5 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Big ~ Happy ~ Color Post ~ Waiting for Yellow

  1. Welcome Back! Love the picture.

  2. Welcome back Betsy Starbear! Your joy is shining through ~ I’m dancing with you on your BIG beach!

  3. Love these photos!!!!!

  4. Love your studio on the beach and the colorful rainbow post…I’ve missed your beautiful words, wisdom and photos here…Grateful for your hands and feet…and remembering to thank my own creative hands and adventurous feet.

Your comments are appreciated!

