Magic of the Spirits of the Lake

We left “the boys” sleeping soundly and went to the beach early Thursday morning, the last day of their time up here. It was “girl time,” so taking hot coffee with us we went for a last quiet morning on the shore. Charlotte and I have similar deep spiritual bond with nature, healing, and the Healing Waters.

Unsuccessful in our previous trips at finding agates, we laughed at our penchant for collecting stones and how we always find something beautiful in each and every one. Every stone has a special quality, some beautiful, some unusual, some with images only we might see and name. We laughed a lot at our “visions” in the stones and that we can’t take them all with us.

We walked alone and together and with joyful excitement she showed me her first really good agate find! I had found nothing great as yet, so I was happy for her find. At one point I had said a quiet prayer to the Lake, a wish: That I might find one good white agate to give to my friend. For no reason, I began to march purposefully to a point further down the beach than we were likely to get to in our pokey meandering. I was being drawn there… I stopped, again for no reason and bent over at the water line, the waves reaching my toes as they slapped the sand. Just within reach, sitting atop a pile of darker stones was a white stone, perhaps just another piece of white quartz? I picked it up and turned it over, and sure enough, it was a neatly striped white agate! Running back to Charlotte to gift it to her, my heart sang “Megwitch, Megwitch, Megwitch, Megwitch!”
When I told her the story of being drawn to that spot, she said ” I wondered why you went marching down the beach all of a sudden!” We laughed. God is good. Life is good. And the Spirit of the Lake laughed with us. Small, heartfelt gifts. Blessings. Friendship.

Then I shared with her a place that I always visit at this beach, a driftwood post planted deep in the sand last summer, to see if it would withstand the winter storms. Each time I visit, I leave a special thank you to Creator for my life here, offering thanks to the spirits of the four directions, the Lake, and God for making it all available to us. Megwitch, Spirits of the East for each new beginning. Megwitch, Spirits of the South, for warmth, the warmth of loving friendships. Megwitch, Spirits of the West, for Golden Light, End of Days, and vast Horizons. Megwitch, Spirits of the North, for Clarity of Vision, Winter, Contrast and Cold Clear Light. Finally, I offer gratitude to God for bringing me to this place to learn, grow, share. This time we both left small Thank You gifts. We got “it” together.

Small, heartfelt gifts. Blessings. Friendship. Love. I am blessed. Aren’t we all?
No camera on this trip. Some occasions remain simple special memories.

2 responses to “Magic of the Spirits of the Lake

  1. You sound like my daughter, Hayley, who has always been fascinated with all kinds of rocks.

  2. Okay. I’ve got my new hard drive installed, and the computer’s working great. You can do more blogging now. ;^)

Your comments are appreciated!

