Post-A-Day 2011 ~ How Do I want to Be Remembered?

The postaday2011 challenge topic #11 for January 11, 2011 is “What do you want to be remembered for?”
Good Grief! What a question… I’m not close to dead, yet, I hope! If I know or have known 10,000 people, I guess I might be remembered for something different by each one.

What I hope I am remembered for are simple things:
For kindness, honesty, generosity, gratitude, my sense of humor and loving people, for being a loyal friend, a good mom, a good person, for living in integrity, with courage and an adventuresome spirit.
I hope I can be remembered for my appreciation of beauty in nature, people, life, and teaching, teaching with joy and inspiring others.
I hope I am remembered for bringing a smile to someone’s face and sharing laughter. I hope I am remembered in connection with agates, horses, a kite shop in Detroit.
I would like to be remembered for being compassionate and loving to all.

Funny, thinking about this, I thought I wanted to be remembered for being a fabulous artist, writer, poet, beautiful, funny, energetic, inspirational, and maybe even brilliant and the hot love of someone’s life! LOL. I do want all of that, too. It’s here. I love me.

Maybe the best thing of all is to just be… remembered.
…even if it is as that funny redheaded, short person with big ideas, who, through rose colored glasses didn’t see the walls of the little boxes some people tried to put her in? What boxes? What color are they?
I will probably be remembered for being tenacious, persistent, okay; stubborn and maybe even silly.
A good friend said to me recently “You are the most persistent redhead I know!”
My response” “Thank You! What a compliment! If I weren’t so bloody persistent, I’d have been dead long ago!”

May your dreams be steady and fufilled. May your commitment to loving your life be filled with joy.
May you dance on the beach, always, with gusto and grace!

Namaste.
How do you want to be remembered?
~ Betsy

Beauty and the Beach

6 responses to “Post-A-Day 2011 ~ How Do I want to Be Remembered?

  1. How do I want to be remembered? I don’t know, but hopefully something good. I think we’d all like to be remembered for the things you mentioned above, whether it be for talent or how we affected the people around us. Sometimes, just being remembered at all is enough.

  2. Namaste. 🙂

    That’s a wonderful list. From one (former — I dye my hair now) redhead to another: I think there might be something about red hair that makes us persistent. lol!

    • LOL… Deep Roots? How’s you postaday doing – gotta check in w/buddies. Now that I have returned to work it is more of a challenge! Be more persistent? LOL!

      • lol! Very deep roots.

        Persistence will do it. lol! I’m still plugging along on a daily basis. Got a LONG way to go, though (something I should not even be thinking about!).

  3. There is a memory of you in every post you transmit. Your generous personality to give and love while looking for a specific love in your life reveals itself in every message. Look around you at those who really care and have bellied up to the bar. We’re here. We count. We salute you for being you and sharing your incredible gifts of beauty. Beauty from a place we may never walk or know intimately as you do. But your sharing has led us to the pristine shores of the U.P. and Superior. May you one day share with many, publishing your books or a journal like this blog that is so informative and inspirational. May we all be remembered for encouraging you in your endeavors whatever you choose to give priority and concentrate on to find a way to share your God-given gifts and knowledge to many.

    • Thank you Robie –
      I know! You are such a gift of encouragement and you count…
      Not sure belly up to the bar is the best phrase for me, LOL, somedays…. that is too funny. I hope you can see me winking at you!
      I am grateful for friends, relatives, readers and subscribers who encourage …
      Losing count and all count!
      We’ll talk soon?
      Love – B

Your comments are appreciated!

