Post-A-Day 2011 ~ Basket of Abundance

Spiritual Harvest

These are some of my treasures, from where I live and why I live here… in addition to the abundance of snow and cold…
Agates, little dipper stones, cedar, sweetgrass, tobacco and sage… a basket of spiritual abundance, including golden angel wings! East, South, West, North and heaven. A feather fan for smudging ceremonies, a wooden flute that holds the call of the loon…(the flute is not pictured..)
It was so cold outside today, I never left the house! I think that’s a first for me. It was -20F when I got up this morning and the temp rose to a balmy -4F during the heat of the day. A quiet day spent counting my blessings and expressing gratitude for all of the teachings I have been exposed to.
As one of my native teachers always says, “Take what works for you, what feels right and good…” and so I have been gifted with sage to grow, harvest, and bundle.
Bundled with the help of Good Spirits and beauty. It was not a chore – it was days of delight, cutting, drying, hanging singing, wrapping…
I have been gifted with sweetgrass plantings, and hopefully, this summer will be harvesting that, as well.
My basket is full, and always emptying and making room for more… when I go to the beach in summer, beautiful agates and stones find me, and the angel wings? A secret I cannot tell, just that they are golden angel wings, given to me by a powerful spirit guide in the course of a magical miracle… another story for another campfire.

A different day, a different mircle…
A few years ago, at Summer Solstice, I participated in a special ceremony for many days. In the process of having a medicine wheel marked on my left arm, the elder who was performing the ceremony had placed 11 of the 13 marks necessary to complete the wheel…when I passed out – cold. It took several minutes for me to regain consciousness, during which time I went on a magical journey. When I awoke I was so embarrased! Yet many came to me afterwards and thanked me for sharing the vision/journey and taking them with me. Then they shared with me what they saw and experienced, and it was what I saw as well. It was an open place where people on the path gathered and celebrated… and everyone was kind and caring for one another. There were specific people in the vision, and I had never felt so included, so caring and cared for in my life. We were visited by Thunderbird, and soon after, as ceremonies ended, an eagle circled our ceremonial camp.
Later, the elder who was performing the ceremony pulled me aside and we talked. He asked me what I thought it all meant, passing out, going on a spontaneous vision quest. In my dazed state, I was unable to say. He said, “It will come to you. Give it time…” and then he said about my not completeing the ceremony of the medicine wheel offering “It may well be a sign that you have given enough, and it is time for rest. You can complete it next year, if it is meant to be…” The following year it was complete.
I have a medicine wheel for life. I am a Master Reiki Healer. I create healing through art and heart and talking with people. I know my totems well, and am a keeper of others secrets. It is my way,
I will soon be changing once again – and that is why part of my name is starbear… a part of the night sky, constantly changing… and denning up today.
Namaste ~ may your visions be clear, joyful, and filled with love.

4 responses to “Post-A-Day 2011 ~ Basket of Abundance

  1. Betsey, your blog is absolutely delightful!!!! I love the focus on abundance and gratitude – you have inspired me to make a spiritual harvest basket as well!!!! Love and hugs!!! Mikell

  2. Thank you Mikell! Glad you came to the party! Welcome!

Your comments are appreciated!

