Post-a-Day2011~ Postcard From My Dream

As everyone else rhapsodizes about Spring coming, here we watch the snow melt slowly. There is still over a foot of snow lying in the woods. Deep circles of space have melted around tree trunks warmed by the sun. Sap is running in nicks and cuts in pine bark… old and new wounds healing.
I have been writing a lot and not posting. Limited time, a computer problem, asking for and receiving miracles on a daily basis, transferring work assignments to a new position (bi-lateral movement, not forward?) making new art and new choices… creating opportunities – I am springing back into life, even as the snow slowly disappears.
The only other visible signs of Spring, thus far, have been the LIGHT and no fresh snow! Longer, brighter days pulling me to the beach, if only briefly, where, from the low ground of the beach, high snowbanks still obscure the waters of Lake Superior and a few pebbles melt down through the snow. As the wind blows from the North, the snowpack/icepack on the Lake washes in to shore then back out again. On different days the wonderful water is visible from the bluff, or not, depending on the Wind.
The sky is crisp and clear with infinite light!
Some patches of sand and sandy snow are appearing along the row of melting pools lining the backside bases of the view blocking banks. Unable to go in the best of daylight for fresh photos you can see it here.
And so… my post-a-day is barely a post-a-month… I found I stopped posting because while I do write every day, some is not yet for public consumption. In my excitement to share, I find I share too much and secrets I am learning to keep.

Who will want to buy my books if they are all free here? Sometime ago, I made a commitment to myself and others, no longer give it all away for free. So while I develop things to be offered freely, and as I create to also sell, I have learned to discern abit more carefully.
Those who love my work and find value and inspiration here… Thank you. There will be more, and freebies galore.

Yet even I, dubbed Miracle Maker, love paying my bills. So when the book is ready for sale you will be the first to know!

In the meantime, here is a freebie from one of my mentors! Calling all writers, wordsmiths, wannabe writers and those with a dream to write and share your work: Give this a click and play!
SARK just announced SARK’s Wild Words Contest! It’s sort of combination between a writing contest and a treasure hunt…and EVERYONE who enters wins a prize! One person will win the JUICY GRAND PRIZE, which includes being FEATURED in your own “Magical Mini-Memoir” in the program – right alongside the other inspiring writers. Enter today – the contest ends April 8th! Plus, through April 8, there is an “Early Word Special” with a really nice discount. Enter SARK’s Wild Words Contest here!


May your day be filled with scrumptiousness – good food, good friends and writing with your favorite pen or crayon!
Namaste ~ Star Bear

One response to “Post-a-Day2011~ Postcard From My Dream

  1. Hi Starbear,

    No snow here unfortunately. Just busy times as we move house. It is always a balance when you put writing out on the internet, everyone expects it to always be free. But as a writer I suppose the ultimate aim is to be published in the traditional medium of a book. In the UK there is so little poetry published that it tends to be well known writers getting more out there.

    The small presses struggle with the ever increasing costs and many are using ebooks and other less traditional systems like print on demand. Many other people self publish.

    A hard world out there, but I am using my blog not so much to get a deal, more to hone my writing and to get used to writing consistenly over a longer period of time. Even when I have other conflicting things going on.
    I enjoy reading the things others like yourself are publishing, keep going with it. Especially the way you have tied your writing to your photos.

    Jim

Your comments are appreciated!

